The Rules of Engagement

As a freelancer, you need to be able to work across a number of different types of employer.
As a locum with a GPnetworks account, you need your account to be able to handle the complexity of working for Hub banks, either in-hours or extended hours or out of hours and working for practices.
 —
The Gpnetworks system handles all of this and creates a single unified Schedule for you of all your activity.
 —

Naturally the rules behind this are quite complex – but here is some insight into them.

— — —

Interaction with Practices

1. When a Practitioner does anything in their Schedule (accept, cancel, decline)   it gives them the option to choose whether to stay available for that session or not with a checkbox.

2. When a surgery confirms, the Practitioner is set unavailable for that session and  any other requests will be declined automatically  and notifications sent out.

3. When a surgery cancels an accepted OR confirmed session, it automatically sets the GP as available again.

Hub Assignments

1. Assignments will only be made if a GP has no accepted or confirmed, or assigned requests existing for that session in their Schedule.

2. When an assignment is made, any conflicting requests will be auto declined  (this will only consist of new requests the GP has not responded to yet, since assignment can’t be made for any accepted / confirmed)
— — —
For more information about your GPnetworks account, please get in touch
— — —

The Public Availability calendar option in GP profiles

The option of making your availability public simply means that you allow your availability calendar to be viewed on a public URL, outside of a GPn login – so you could send it to an employer, for example. As a feature it should have no direct bearing on your opportunity to find locum work through the system. All practices suing GPn will be able to see your availability as long as you have set them as Visible to you in your Visibility tab.

What is the Cover needed section ?

This is an added service for practices, when they are unable to find locum cover via the locum availability system, they can place a requirement that all GPs in the network can see. In your view, this is a combined list of all such placements. If there are none, it simply means that practices have no requirements they cannot match using the main system. Sometimes this may have 3 or 4 requirements in it. When such a requirement is created by a practice the system sends an email out to all GPs to let them know.

 

Understand how T&Cs are handled in GPnetworks

A GP uploads their T&C’s to their profile

When a practice requests a GP via the system, and the GPs accepts the request, the T&C’s are attached to the email notification to the practice.

Note, an acceptance is not a confirmed session – the practice still has the option to confirm or cancel accepted requests. this means the practice can review those T&Cs before confirming a session

hope this clears it up

Unraveling the logic of the request process

On this support system, other articles deal with the basic logic of the request process.

This Q&A looks at the issues of cancellation and first come first served when booking sessions.

Question:
For example, on 29th I accepted a request from practice A in the morning and practice B in the afternoon. But I had also been requested by practice C for the whole day.
When I accept the requests from practice A and B, does practice C automatically get sent a message declining them? (As at this point their request disappears from my GP Networks).

Answer:
Almost. The logic outlined above is true but relates to when session requests that you have accepted are Confirmed by a practice – this is when a session becomes effectively locked and disappears for all other employers availability calendars

At this point another practice cannot request you or a practice with an outstanding request will get a declined notification and be unable to continue with the booking process with you for that session