On this support system, other articles deal with the basic logic of the request process.
This Q&A looks at the issues of cancellation and first come first served when booking sessions.
For example, on 29th I accepted a request from practice A in the morning and practice B in the afternoon. But I had also been requested by practice C for the whole day.
When I accept the requests from practice A and B, does practice C automatically get sent a message declining them? (As at this point their request disappears from my GP Networks).
Almost. The logic outlined above is true but relates to when session requests that you have accepted are Confirmed by a practice – this is when a session becomes effectively locked and disappears for all other employers availability calendars
At this point another practice cannot request you or a practice with an outstanding request will get a declined notification and be unable to continue with the booking process with you for that session
GPs store many of their important professional documents within their Profiles. You can view these any time by visiting a GP Profile (click a GP name in your calendar)
As well as this, when you book a GP via the system, the conformation email will contain links to the GPs important documents, for you to download
Near the foot of the Confirmation email, you will see something like this:
To contact this GP please use the following contact details:
GMC no: 123456789
You can view his or her terms and conditions here: Download
Medical Defence Certificate Document: Download
GMC Registration Document: Download
Performers List Letter Of Confirmation Document: Download
Sometimes a GP may ask you to refer to their Terms & Conditions. These are within a document stored in the GPs Profile and is emailed to you at the email address associated with your Practice account, as an attachment to a booking confrmation email.
So when you book a doctor via the system, lookout for the confirmation email and look for the attachments. Often other import GP professional documents are also attached.
Cancelling a Confirmed booking
Gpnetworks does not have a Policy on the subject, since we are not involved in the negotiations between practices and practitioners
Both parties are able to post their terms to their Profile and we send each others terms, during the booking process
We have a logic within our system that relaters to cancellations – as follows:
GPs cannot cancel a booked session (via the system) – they can contact a practice and cancel it verbally with them and ask them to cancel the session on the system
Practices can cancel booked sessions but not on the day of the session – the system provides them a feature to do this and sends relevent communications / updates both parties Calendars etc
Hope this helps
There are 3 possible reasons for this:
(note: in all cases, you can still Request GPs via the system)
1. The doctor has not published their contact details
2. You are using a FREE practice account (unable to see GP contact details)
3. Your practice is outside the doctors work radius but they have decided to show you their availability anyway (details below).
For example, a doctor has a work radius set in their account of 50 miles (this is how far they are willing to travel to work and affects the list of Practices they advertise their availability to)
Your practice is outside of this doctors Work Radius so, normally, you would not see their availability in your calendar.
However, the doctor has also activated a special feature within their account to show their availability to practices not on their personal list of employers (shows them to practices outside their radius) – but to not show those practices their contact details
Which means you can see the doctors availability and request the doctor via the system but not contact them directly